The Rewards of Patience

patience-Road-Sign“I’ve learned that waiting is the most difficult bit, and I want to get used to the feeling, knowing that you’re with me, even when you’re not by my side.”
― Paulo Coelho, Eleven Minutes

“Every great dream begins with a dreamer. Always remember, you have within you the strength, the patience, and the passion to reach for the stars to change the world.”
-Harriet Tubman

“If patience is worth anything, it must endure to the end of time. And a living faith will last in the midst of the blackest storm.”
-Mahatma Gandhi

“I have just three things to teach: simplicity, patience, compassion. These three are your greatest treasures.”
-Lao Tzu

I guess I’d like to know, from whoever is reading this blog…

what reward(s) YOU have attained from being patient?

For me, the  major thing has been finally finding love in my life, after being so impatient, longing for it, for such a long time. I met my SO online, a blog writer whose creative writing I truly admired. From comments on each others blogs, to emails, to Skype, to finally meeting face to face (all this ran over the course of six months)…and April 2013 will be two years since first discovering each others blogs by way of the Blogging A to Z April Challenge.  The other side of this, with being patient, in that ours is a semi-long distance relationship, is that we’ve had to take our time getting to know each other. We appreciate, care, and accept each other as we are, and being patient in this way, not pushing, not moving things faster than things should, has a deepening effect, a relationship of love, built on so many different levels. I could not ask for a more wonderful woman in my life.

What I am impatient about, and what affects my moods more than anything else, is my lack of a full time job/career at this stage of my life. It leads me onto many dark paths (as you readers already know)…and, as you know, I want/need this to change. I hope to have a second interview after the new year starts with a company that I’ve had dealings with in the past (through a previous job).  I’m trying to be patient, as I knew there is nothing I can do to move the process along any faster. That is out of my hands, and I have to accept it. Sometimes, it is just too hard, and that  is where the overly negative posts come from.

So…today has been a mixed day: a number of things accomplished, one which was very necessary to do, but sad nonetheless. It took two hours to slog through and bag two black garbage bags of “stuff” that will need to be shredded. Thank goodness for the Mobile Shredding Truck that does it in my county!! The positive that came out of this: my SO finding some important documents that relate to my father’s timeline during WWII and after; most of it will have to be translated, but I now have dates (some approximates) that I did not have before, plus added info.

Maybe it is time to dig out my play about him and add in these facts. Being patient, going through everything, has brought this to light. So…good alongside the sad.

So….again…I’d like to know what you’ve gotten from being patient. It’d be nice to have comments on good things.

8 thoughts on “The Rewards of Patience

  1. I have never been a patient person. I get a little uneasy and am told to be impulsive at most times. However, it is something I am working on and I do believe that patience with determination will get you places.

  2. I tend to be impatient with myself, but more patient with others. I am learning to give things that are not in my control over to God, and trust Him to help me wait for an answer. The benefit to being patient is not getting anxious and overwrought, but being able to remain content that God is ultimately in control, and I don’t have to worry.

  3. I, too, am not a patient person. But to try to answer your question, there’s one important reward that comes to mind….my son. As you may have read from my blog, I’m reproductively challenged and had to go through IVF to get pregnant. One definitely needs a LOT of patience (and faith) for that, for the whole process but I must say, having my son is the best ‘pay-off’ ever. 🙂

Leave a comment